1191 Third Crusade: Forces under Richard I of England (1157–1199)defeated Ayyubid troops under Saladin (ca. 1138–1193) at the Battle of Arsuf in Arsuf, present-day Israel.

1303 Boniface VIII (ca. 1235–1303), the “ideal pope,” was kidnapped while preparing to bring Philip the Fair (Philip IV of France, 1268–1314) to court in an ecumenical council.

1534 Lazarus Spengler, hymnist, died at Nürnberg (b. 13 March 1479, Nürnberg).

1559 Robert Estienne, a printer who divided the New Testament into verses, died (b. 1503, Paris).

1619 Rasmus Jensen landed at mouth of Churchill River, Canada.

1631“O Little Flock, Fear Not the Foe” was sung in the Battle of Breitenfeld, near Leipzig.

1640 J. J. Schütz, German lawyer and hymnist, was born in Frankfort-am-Main (d. 22 May 1690).

1643 Reorus Torkillus, first Lutheran pastor of a parish in the American colonies, died (b. 1608, Mölndahl, near Gothenberg, Sweden).

1690 Karl Heinrich von Bogatzky, poet and hymnist, was born in Jankowe, near Mielitsch in Lower Silesia (d. 15 June 1774).

1724 The first American congregation of German Baptists, or Dunkards, met in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

1783 Robert Raikes (1736–1811) formed the Sunday School Society to raise money for weekly Christian schools, which met each Sunday from 10:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.—the original Sunday schools.

1807 Robert Morrison (1782–1834), sent by the London Missionary Society, arrived in Canton and Macao, China, as the first Protestant missionary in China.

1812 George N. Allen, religious composer, music scholar and educator, was born in Mansfield, Massachusetts (d. 9 December 1877, Cincinnati, Ohio).

1832 Carl Johann Otto Hanser, director (president) of Concordia College (Fort Wayne, Indiana) and pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church (Saint Louis), was born at Schopflohe, Bavaria (d. 10 January 1910).

1833 Hannah More (b. 2 February 1745), English philanthropist and devotional writer, died.

1844 C. F. W. Walther (1811–1887) published the first issue of Der Lutheraner as a means to establish a connection between the various groups of confessional Lutherans in America. The publication continued until 1974 as an official publication of the Missouri Synod.

1845 Saint Louis, Missouri, became the site of the first Hebrew synagogue to be built in the Mississippi Valley.

1852 Friedrich Streckfuss was born in Van Wert County, Ohio (d. 1924). A graduate of Concordia College (Fort Wayne, Indiana) and of Concordia Seminary (Saint Louis) in 1874, he served as a pastor at Young America, Minnesota, and became professor of Latin in the preseminary and of symbolics in Concordia Theological Seminary (Springfield, Illinois) in 1892.

1862 Elmer Frederick Krauss, president of the Chicago Lutheran Theological Seminary, was born in Kraussdale, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania (d. 23 May 1946).

1869 The Missouri Synod, meeting in convention in Fort Wayne, Indiana (September 1–11), adopted a resolution establishing Concordia Publishing House.

1881 Sidney Lanier (b. 3 February 1842), American poet of the Confederacy and hymnist, died.

1892 Ole Jensen Hatlestad, president of the Norwegian Danish Augustana Synod, died (b. 30 September 1823, Norway).

1892 John Greenleaf Whittier (b. 17 December 1807), American Quaker poet, abolitionist and newspaper editor, died.

1896 August C. Rehwaldt Jr. was born at Valparaiso, Indiana. He attended Concordia Seminary (Saint Louis) in 1916–1917 and 1918–1919 and was a graduate of Wyoming University in 1921. He became a professor at Concordia College (Milwaukee, Wisconsin) in 1926.

1897 Jane Borthwick, hymn translator, died in Edinburgh, Scotland (b. 9 September 1813).

1916 Henry Sieck, director of Saint John’s College (Winfield, Kansas) from 1893 to 1895 and missions executive for the Wisconsin District of the Missouri Synod, died (b. 1 July 1850, near Mannheim, Baden).

1925 Jacob Abraham Clutz, German Synod and United Lutheran Church professor, died (b. 5 January, 1848, Adams County, Pennsylvania).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
© 2014-2024 Concordia Historical Institute • All Rights Reserved