526 Felix IV (d. 530) was elected pope.

1191 The armies of the Third Crusade (1189–1192), led by England’s King Richard (“The Lionhearted”), captured the Syrian seaport of Acre.

1276 Adrian V (Ottobuono de Fieschi, ca. 12051276) was elected pope.

1536 Desiderius Erasmus, Dutch scholar and the first editor of the Greek New Testament, died in Basel (b. ca. 1466).

1580 Ostrog Bible, the first Bible in Old Church Slavonic, was printed in Ostroh, Ukraine by Ivan Fedorovych.

1774 Jonathan Friedrich Bahnmeier, professor, pastor, and hymnist, was born at Oberstenfeld, Wuerttemberg (d. 18 August 1841).

1840 English preacher Frederick William Robertson (18161853) was ordained into the Anglican Church by the Bishop of Winchester.

1843 Joseph Smith (18051844), founder of the Mormon church, announced that a divine revelation had been given him sanctioning plural marriage.

1843 Ralph Erskine Hudson, sacred music writer and publisher, was born in Napoleon, Ohio (d. 14 June 1901, Cleveland, Ohio).

1857 “The Voice That Breathed O’er Eden” was written by John Keble (1792–1866), English clergyman and poet and a prominent leader of the Oxford movement.

1871 A riot between Irish Catholics and Irish Protestants in New York City left 52 dead and many wounded.

1873 Gerrit Parmele Judd, medical missionary to Hawaii, died in Honolulu (b. 23 April 1803, Paris, New York).

1892 Ottomar Fuerbringer, Saxon immigrant and early Missouri Synod leader, died (b. 30 June 1810).

1898 Peter Deyneka Sr., founder of The Slavic Gospel Association, was born.

1928 Carl Manthey Zorn, missionary to India and author, died (b. 18 March 1846).

1931 Nathan Söderblom, Archbishop of Uppsala and ecumenist, died (b. 15 January 1866, Trono, Sweden).

1951 Olive Gruen (18831963), Missouri Synod medical missionary, arrived in Taiwan.

1967 Martin F. Walker, professor at Concordia College (Bronxville, New York) and president of the Missouri Synod’s English District, died (b. 2 April 1877).

1983 The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, in convention elections on this day, elected Florence Montz as a member of the board of directors. She became the first woman so elected. Montz previously held positions of president of the Lutheran Women’s Missionary League and a volunteer for the Synod’s Commission on Health and Healing.

1998 The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod officially declared itself to be in altar and pulpit fellowship with the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Ingria in Russia (ELCIR) at its 60th regular convention.

2004 The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod formally declared church fellowship with the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Kenya (ELCK). The ELCK was begun in 1948 by Scandinavian mission societies.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
© 2014-2024 Concordia Historical Institute • All Rights Reserved